Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

We Are Not Free - Resource Guide

This guide list sources related to the historical context of Traci Chee's book We Are Not Free.

Resources

Here are some selected resources related to Japanese Internment a.k.a. "Relocation" , and the time period.  This is not a complete listing!

The Japanese Internment Camps : A History Perspectives Book Cover Image          Democratizing the Enemy : The Japanese American Internment Cover Image         Internment : Japanese Americans in World War II Cover Image

 

 

National Archives https://www.archives.gov/education/lessons/japanese-relocation

Includes background and links to 20 related document

 

 

Life Magazine article   “How To Tell Japs From The Chinese” - mentioned in the book

https://anthropology.net/2007/08/06/life-magazines-1941-article-how-to-tell-japs-from-the-chinese/

National Park Service 

 

Japantown, San Francisco - Current website   https://www.sfjapantown.org/

1943 - U.S. government-produced film "Japanese Relocation" addresses relocation camps

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yVyIa11ZtAE

1988 - President Reagan signs the Japanese-American Internment Compensation Bill signing on August 10, 1988  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kcaQRhcBXKY

NOTE THAT OTHER VIDEOS ARE LINKED IN THE AUTHOR TAB

About the book and Traci Chee

Bush, Elizabeth. "We Are Not Free by Traci Chee (review)." Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books 74, no. 1 (Sep 2020): 10. http://dx.doi.org/10.1353/bcc.2020.0537.

Carton, Debbie. "We Are Not Free." The Booklist 116, no. 15 (2020 Apr 01): 76. https://www.proquest.com/trade-journals/we-are-not-free/docview/2385804073/se-2?accountid=5451.

Chee, Traci. "We Are Not Free." New York Times Book Review, 2020 Oct 18, 26. https://www.proquest.com/magazines/we-are-not-free/docview/2453797990/se-2?accountid=5451.

"We Are Not Free." Kirkus Reviews LXXXVIII, no. 14 (2020 Jul 15). https://www.proquest.com/trade-journals/we-are-not-free/docview/2422649273/se-2?accountid=5451.

 

Traci Chee, 2020 YPL National Book Award Finalist, reads from We Are Not Free -    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3y3A_zTRQJM  

We Are Not Free - Research Stories #1 - Best Story Behind a Photograph   https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OW0M9cNzwcg

We Are Not Free - Research Stories #2 - Most Striking Moment from an Interview  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pbeITE_A8Cg

We Are Not Free - Research Stories #3 - Most Memorable Travel Experience  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=auUflJc2oSo

We Are Not Free - Research Stories #4 - Best Surprise from a Primary Source   https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h2EwZAIgHzo

We Are Not Free - Research Stories #5 - Best Found Object   https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HQNdr7mUtRg

 

 

Bibliographies, Citations, Footnotes and Notecards

BIBLIOGRAPHY and WORKS CITED components:

Here is an example bibliography with sources included in this guide.

https://my.noodletools.com/public/210514175540298463004934

Why we cite sources:

  1. Gives credit (or blame) to another author - their "intellectual property", and avoid plagerism
  2. Supports your research by demonstrating the credibility of the content that you consulted to support your thesis.
  3. Allows the reader of your work to dig deeper into the sources that you have selected.

BIBLIOGRAPHY STYLES

  • MLA (version #) - used by English Department - in-text citations
  • CHICAGO  (version #) - used by the Social Studies Department - footnotes

AN ANNOTATED BIBLIOGRAPHY

  • Explains how/why you may be using a resource in your project.
  • Reviews the author's credentials
  • Overviews the resource

 

William Penn Charter School 3000 W School House Lane Philadelphia, PA 19144 215-844-3460