LibGuides: 10th GR: Social Studies Research: Home

Suggested Resources

Here is a suggested order to locate books for this part of your project:

Books we have - check AccessIt (the catalog)
Books we have online (ebooks)
Books we may borrow (AccessPA)

There are other ebook resources available to you online - ask your librarians for more information

AccessIt Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
Books may be more useful for this portion of the research project. First check to see what is on campus.
You may browse the Catalog as a Guest or use Single Sign On / SSO to use other features such as "Holds" and to sign on to other databases and ebooks when you are off-campus.
Proquest Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
To cite, select "database" and "book" in Noodletools. USE the book's ISBN to import the citation. Then add the URL from "Share Link to Book" in Proquest Ebook Central.

Access PA This link opens in a new window
This site lets you search for resources available to borrow from other libraries in Pennsylvania. Ask your libraries for help.

Access World News This link opens in a new window
This database includes many current publications (updated daily) from around the world. You may search by by a region or specific country. Use "map search" or "more search options" to locate these publications.
Gale in Context Global Issues This link opens in a new window
Global Issues is updated daily and offers 250 country pages and more than 400 issue pages. You may search by country or territory of publication under search options.

Gale in Context - publication search for specific location
Use this link to narrow your search to a specific publication region or country.
Gale News (a POWER Library resource)
You may sign in via Google Apps --> Power Library Icon
Gale News - Publication search for specific location (POWER Library resource)
You may sign in via Google Apps --> Power Library Icon

Issues (ABC-CLIO) This link opens in a new window
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
An archive of fully searchable back issues of scholarly journals in anthropology, African- American studies, ecology, economics, education, finance, general science, history, literature, music, philosophy, political science, sociology, and statistics.
ProQuest Database collection This link opens in a new window
This database includes many current publications (updated daily) from around the world. You will need to know the specific publication name to focus your search.
World History: The Modern Era (ABC-CLIO) This link opens in a new window
Modern World History (Infobase) This link opens in a new window
World Religions (ABC-CLIO) This link opens in a new window
World Religions (Infobase) This link opens in a new window

Note that many "local" publications may be in languages other than English.

Al Jazeera Media Network
Al Jazeera was the first independent news channel in the Arab world.
AllSides - Media Bias Chart
Check the bias of particular news organizations.
BBC World News
The BBC World Service operates in 42 languages, including English. The international news service has journalists and supporting staff in 73 cities across 59 countries.
NPR
PBS
Reuters World News
Wall Street Journal
This publication is also in the Proquest database.
Listing of World New Agencies (on Google)

Government / Gov Agencies (China, United Nations, CIA...) Check out this link for specifik
Museums (Australian National Maritime Museum...)
Organizations, NGO's, Associations (WADA, Greenpeace...)
Trade Organizations (WTA...)
Other affiliations (NATO,OPEC...)

THIS SECTION IS UNDER DEVELOPMENT

American Civil Liberties Union (ACLU)
Amnesty International
Human Rights Watch
Southern Poverty Law Center
New York State Bar Association: National Civil Rights Organizations https://nysba.org/national-civil-rights-organizations/

EXAMPLE ANNOTATED BIBLIOGRAPHY

HOW TO SHARE YOUR PROJECT IN NOODLETOOLS

Topic exploration tips

Get some background information using the sources highlighted on this page.. Make sure that there is enough information about your topic AND that it is interesting to you.

Check the catalog

Remember it is not a fulltext search tool so you may need to use fewer, broader keywords. When you find books browse the shelves for other related items in the same subject number(s). Ask your librarians about reference sources that may be of help such as biographical dictionaries and other specialized materials. Not all of these will show up in your catalog search, so please ask.

Internet sources

Remember to evaluate the website to make sure that it is a credible site - see tips link under "evaluating resources" tab for more detail.

Some sources on the Internet are "behind a pay wall" meaning that you pay to view these. Check to see if these items are available in our database collections.

Keep in Mind

The Social Studies Dept uses The Chicago Manual of Style for bibliography and footnote/endnote formatting.
Pay careful attention to punctuation, line spacing and indentation.
Bibliographies should be in alphabetical order based on the first item of each citation.
USING PREFORMATTED CITATIONS FROM SITES IS NOT RECOMMENDED! Why? These citiations often are incorrect, and Noodletools wil not create the much-needed footnotes for you! Remember that some databases now export directly to Noodletools.

Alerts

Many of the subscription resources allow you to create an "Alert". An alert will send you automatic updates if anything new has been added to a particular online resource that matches a search or searches that you create. You may set up multiple alerts to test different search strategies.

10th GR: Social Studies Research

Peace/NonViolence Project -Mr. R.

Research help

Suggested Resources