LibGuides: 8th GR: Social Studies Current Issues in the Courts: Home

Suggested Resources

JUSTIA Court Dockets - search by Circuit Court, State, Type of lawsuit

Penn America (Book banning)

Gale in Context Global Issues This link opens in a new window
Includes recent information, editorials, magazine, newspaper, ebook content, podcasts, images and links to websites.
Issues (ABC-CLIO) This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Database collection This link opens in a new window
ABC-CLIO (metasearch) This link opens in a new window
This link allows you to cross-search all the ABC-CLIO databases in our collection, except their ebooks.
American Government (ABC-CLIO) This link opens in a new window
American History (ABC-CLIO) This link opens in a new window
American History (Infobase) This link opens in a new window
Has maps, charts, timelines, videos in addition to in-depth articles.

Gale Power Search (Gale - topic finder) This link opens in a new window Use this to explore your topics.

AccessIt Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
Search for books about the Constitution and specific amendments, as well as books for specific topics.
You may browse the Catalog as a Guest or use Single Sign On / SSO to use other features such as "Holds" and to sign on to other databases and ebooks when you are off-campus.

Proquest eBook Central Advanced Search
You may want to limit your search to the "Schools & Educators" portion of this online collection.

Our Rights by David J. Bodenhamer
ISBN: 9780195313406
Publication Date: 2006-12-01
The Pursuit of Justice by Kermit L. Hall; John J. Patrick
ISBN: 9780195311891
Publication Date: 2006-12-01
Our Constitution by Donald A. Ritchie; JusticeLearning.org
ISBN: 9780195223859
Publication Date: 2006-04-27
The U.S. Constitution and Constitutional Law by Brian Duignan
Call Number: EBOOK (PROQUEST)
ISBN: 9781615306886
Publication Date: 2012-07-30
Encyclopedia of American History (multivolume set) by Gary B. Nash (Editor)
Call Number: 973 E EAH or EBOOK (PROQUEST)
ISBN: 9780816071364
Publication Date: 2009-12-30

Annenberg Classroom This interactive guide to the U.S. Constitution provides the original text and an explanation of the meaning of each article and amendment. The guide is an excellent research tool for students to use to gain a deeper understanding of one of our nation’s founding documents and the establishment of the federal government.
Cornell Law / Legal Information Institute: recent cases Just a list of cases with overviews, no topic guide
Oyez (pronounced OH-yay) Find Supreme Court cases here.
Procon.org Published by Encyclopedia Britannica, this website provides content on many issues to "promote civility, critical thinking, education, and informed citizenship by presenting the pro and con arguments to debatable issues in a straightforward, nonpartisan, freely accessible way."
Supreme Court of the U.S.

Annotations provide information ABOUT your sources, not from your sources. This information may include information about:

For this project a concise one sentence annotation is required. Below is an example. Others are included in our sample bibliography.

"John Smith wrote this 2016 database article that is a history of the Supreme Court in the 21st century."