Home - 9th GR: Term Paper - 2024-2025 - LibGuides at William Penn Charter School

Suggested Resources - getting started with your research

Databases
Books and E-Books

World History: Ancient and Medieval Eras (ABC-CLIO) This link opens in a new window World History: Ancient and Medieval Eras explores ancient civilizations, dynasties, and empires and profiles city-states, countries, and regions of the ancient and medieval world, providing a dynamic learning experience that encompasses intellectual developments, wars and cooperation, religion, cultural practices, and more from prehistory through to the beginning of the Renaissance.
Ancient and Medieval History (Infobase) This link opens in a new window Has maps, charts, timelines, videos in addition to in-depth articles
Daily Life Through HIstory This link opens in a new window explores the daily lives of ordinary people through time and across the globe, providing details about family life, work, food, clothing, sports, language, literature, romance, education, gender roles, social customs, and more that cannot be found elsewhere and are an asset to student research. Furthermore, these details allow students to compare their lives to those of their predecessors and to discern how the past has led to the present, strengthening their abilities to make connections and to identify causal relationships, respectively.
Britannica School-High School This link opens in a new window
Build your own citation using the citation elements listed in the Cite button; that will allow your footnote to be built in Noodletools.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window An archive of fully searchable back issues of scholarly journals in anthropology, African- American studies, ecology, economics, education, finance, general science, history, literature, music, philosophy, political science, sociology, and statistics.

A-Z Databases
Use this link/list to find many other online resources provided by the library.

AccessIt Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
Catalog of library books and online resources
You may browse the Catalog as a Guest or use Single Sign On / SSO to use other features such as "Holds" and to sign on to other databases and ebooks when you are off-campus.

Proquest eBook Central
Look for your topics in this collection of over 200,000 ebooks from scholarly sources, including University Presses and other top publishers. CITE AS DATABASE, BOOK, using the ISBN. Then add the URL for the ebooks and name of the database "Proquest Ebook Central"

Encyclopedia of World Biography 2 17v + Sup 18-23 by Gale Research Inc
ISBN: 9780787691240
Publication Date: 2004-04-01

Gale Virtual Reference Library "GVRL" This link opens in a new window
(ebook and database cross-searchable)
Access PA This link opens in a new window
This site allows you to borrow books from 1,500 other Pennsylvania libraries. If you find a book you'd like to borrow, show a printout or email a link to Arnicia Jamison (ajamison@penncharter.com). She will arrange for the book to be mailed to PC for you to pick up and use for your research.

DO NOT USE "QUICK CITE" / COPY PASTE CITATIONS!

Noodeltools can not format your footnotes or citations copied from databases and websites to the "QuickCite box in citations.

- USE "EXPORT" FUNCTION WHEN AVAILABLE!

- USE ISBN FOR BOOKS AND EBOOKS IN PROQUEST EBOOK CENTRAL

- "SMART IMPORT" MAY BE ABLE TO GENERATE CITATIONS FROM WEBSITES

More about footnotes

In Noodletools, from your "Sources" tab, select the source to be noted, then click on the 3 dots. Select "Footnote format." You will be given the option of "Full" or Shortened" footnote. Add page number(s) as needed, then copy the footnote to your Doc.

In your GoogleDoc, create a footnote by going to the "Insert" menu, scroll down to the "Footnote" option, and click. Docs will insert an automatically generated number for the note, and create a space at the bottom of the page where you may copy the footnote number.

Exporting Citations from Databases

Citing sources from ABC-CLIO

To use the citation export feature from an ABC-CLIO database, open the NoodleTools project you wish to work with in one browser tab. In a second tab, open the ABC-CLIO database and locate the Cite button at the top-right of the article you wish to use, as pictured.

Clicking Cite will open an overlay window with citations displayed in multiple formats. Click the Export to… NoodleTools hyperlink at the top of that window to display the MLA, APA, or Chicago-style citation as it will be imported into the NoodleTools project.

Note: The citation style imported will match the style of the NoodleTools project currently open.