LibGuides: 10-12th GR: African Civilizations &amp; Religions- Diaspora edition: Welcome

Indigenous and Diasporic African religions by topic

Religion in Africa. Blakely, Thomas D; Beek, W. E. A. van; Thomson, Dennis L 299.6 BLA

JSTOR search

ABC-Clio article

Various spellings to search! Vodou, Voodoo, Voudou, Vodun, or French Vaudou.

* Rey, Terry. "Voodoo." World Religions: Belief, Culture, and Controversy, ABC-CLIO, 2023, religion.abc-clio.com/Search/Display/1577555

JSTOR search

* Melton, J. Gordon. "Yoruban Religion." World Religions: Belief, Culture, and Controversy, ABC-CLIO, 2023, religion.abc-clio.com/Search/Display/1577609

JSTOR search

Religion in Africa. Blakely, Thomas D; Beek, W. E. A. van; Thomson, Dennis L 299.6 BLA

Suggested resources by type

Ancient and Medieval History (Infobase) This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Database collection This link opens in a new window
World History: Ancient and Medieval Eras (ABC-CLIO) This link opens in a new window
World Religions (ABC-CLIO) This link opens in a new window
World Religions (Infobase) This link opens in a new window

AccessIt Library Catalog This link opens in a new window Catalog of library books and online resources
You may browse the Catalog as a Guest or use Single Sign On / SSO to use other features such as "Holds" and to sign on to other databases and ebooks when you are off-campus.
Proquest Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
More than 150,000 ebooks are available for multiple people to access at once. This new platform allows you to find books for your research in many subjects. Your PC Gmail username and password allow you to log in with a Single Sign On. These titles do not appear in the AccessIt catalog, so remember this source when looking for research or non-fiction books.

Africa 2021-2023 (2 volumes) by Francis Wiafe-Amoako This book contains historical and current information about Africa as a whole, and for all the countries in Africa.
Call Number: 910 WTS AFR 2021-2022 or 2022-2023
ISBN: 9781475856491
Publication Date: 2021-09-15
Encyclopedia of African History by Kevin Shillington
Call Number: 960 E SHI (multiple volumes)
ISBN: 1579584543
Publication Date: 2005-01-01
Dictionary of African Biography by Emmanuel K. Akyeampong (Editor-In-Chief); Henry Louis Gates (Editor-In-Chief)
Call Number: 960 B AKY 2012 (multiple volumes)
ISBN: 9780195382075
Publication Date: 2011-12-08
Encyclopedia of African Colonial Conflicts by Timothy J. Stapleton
Call Number: 960.3 ENC (multiple volumes)
ISBN: 9781440849053
Publication Date: 2016-11-01

Africa Museum publications available on the web: Documents on Social Sciences and Humanities https://www.africamuseum.be/en/research/discover/publications/open-access/documents-social-sciences-humanities

AccessIt Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
Catalog of library books and online resources
You may browse the Catalog as a Guest or use Single Sign On / SSO to use other features such as "Holds" and to sign on to other databases and ebooks when you are off-campus.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
An archive of fully searchable back issues of scholarly journals in anthropology, African- American studies, ecology, economics, education, finance, general science, history, literature, music, philosophy, political science, sociology, and statistics.
ProQuest Database collection This link opens in a new window
contains the full text of articles from over 2000 newspapers, magazines, journals

About primary sources (link)

National Archives - Africa Through a Lens https://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/africa/

Georgetown University - https://guides.library.georgetown.edu/c.php?g=75537&p=487188

Africana Historic Postcard Collection https://www.loc.gov/rr/amed/afs/africana-postcards.html

CURATED LISTINGS OF PRIMARY SOURCES FROM OTHER LIBRARIES

History : Africa: Primary Sources - Library Guides

https://guides.lib.uw.edu › research › primary A research guide to primary and secondary sources for African history.

African History: Primary Sources - Research Guides

https://bowdoin.libguides.com › c.php Examples of Primary Sources · Diaries, memoirs, autobiographies, letters, interviews, oral histories, personal narratives.

History primary sources | Stanford Libraries

https://library.stanford.edu › browse-topic › history-pri...

Web resources for Africa-related historical photographs. Maintained by the Stanford University Libraries. African National Congress Archives

Primary Sources - African History - UO Libraries Research ...

https://researchguides.uoregon.edu › african-history › Pri...

Primary Sources in African History ; African Newspapers, Series 1 · AllAfrica ; Empire Online · International Historical Statistics ; HistoryMakers · World Heritage.

Primary Sources - History of Africa - Research Guides

https://guides.emich.edu › histafrica › primarysources

Primary sources are materials that were created at the time period you are studying. In the case of memoirs, they are the materials recorded ...

Historical Primary Sources: Africa: Western Africa - Berkeley Library

https://guides.lib.berkeley.edu › africa › western

Historical Primary Sources: Africa: Western Africa ... A digitized collection of resources gathered by a doctoral student that "trace ...

History of South Africa: Primary Sources - Research Guides

https://guides.smu.edu › c.php

South African History Online. Contains both primary source documents and secondary source articles and entries.

Primary Sources - History (Sub-Saharan Africa) - LibGuides at ...

https://libguides.brown.edu › SubSaharanAfrica › primary

Documents the British campaign against Apartheid in Southern Africa, and its efforts to support the people of South Africa in their fight ...

Smithsonian https://www.si.edu/museums/african-art-museum
Timeline https://www.britishmuseum.org/sites/default/files/2021-10/African_Kingdoms_Timeline_Digital_Resource.pdf
The Internet Archive - a online collection of books, documents, images, videos, maps and other resource types

The Penguin atlas of African history by McEvedy, Colin 960 A MCE 1995

African History in Maps 960 A KWA

plus other historical atlases

Website: https://www.worldhistory.org/image/10453/map-of-ancient--medieval-sub-saharan-african-state/ - Map by Mark Cartwright CC license