This page includes just some of the many resources that are available for your research project. Books about United States history topics comprise the largest group of resources in the Gummere library and in our virtual collections.
Black Freedom Struggle in the United States: A Selection of Primary Sources - requires eCard when off campus
Digital collections of the Library of Congress, the largest library in the world.
Contains primary source documents related to the study of the Presidency. Includes presidential papers, party platforms, candidates' remarks, Statements of Administration Policy, documents released by the Office of the Press Secretary, and election debates.
The U.S. decennial censuses from 1790 to 2010.
Search America's historic newspapers pages from 1836-1922.
DocSouth includes texts, images, and audio files related to southern history, literature, and culture. Currently includes sixteen thematic collections of books, diaries, posters, artifacts, letters, oral history interviews, and songs.
Internet Modern History Sourcebook is a collection of links to historical texts presented for educational use.
Library of Congress digital collections. Includes primary sources on U.S. history.
Digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. This collection is thematically related to the Cornell University Making of America Collection, but includes different materials.
Digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. This collection is thematically related to the University of Michigan Making of America Collection, but includes different materials.
At the Institute’s core is the Gilder Lehrman Collection, one of the great archives in American history. More than 70,000 items cover five hundred years of American history, from Columbus’s 1493 letter describing the New World to soldiers’ letters from World War II and Vietnam. Explore primary sources, visit exhibitions in person or online, or bring your class on a field trip.
Correspondence and other writings of seven major shapers of the United States. Over 185,000 searchable documents, fully annotated, from the authoritative Founding Fathers Papers projects.
Discover images, texts, videos, and sounds from across the United States.
These resources should only be consulted for background information. Identify or Tag these sources as TERTIARY SOURCES in your Noodeltools project. These resource should not be included in your BIBLIOGRAPHY (EXPORT OR PRINT)
Item to note: These databases also contain primary sources that may be included in your project bibliography.
Numerous books in the library collection are. or contain primary sources. Some titles such as Homeland Security: A Documentary History, indicate such by including the subtitle including the word "documentary".