This page provides links to some of the many resources that are available to you. Please ask your librarians for assistance.
Free Library of Philadelphia
Bucks
Chester
Delaware
Montgomery
* The Internet Archive is a non-profit library of millions of free texts, movies, software, music, websites, and more.
Example books in the Library:
Annals of American History (primary sources)
These databases also contain primary sources that may be included in your project bibliography
Numerous books in the library collection are. or contain primary sources. Some titles such as Homeland Security: A Documentary History, indicate such by including the subtitle including the word "documentary".
Black Freedom Struggle in the United States: A Selection of Primary Sources - requires eCard when off campus or login via GoogleApps menu - POWER Icon
Digital collections of the Library of Congress, the largest library in the world.
Contains primary source documents related to the study of the Presidency. Includes presidential papers, party platforms, candidates' remarks, Statements of Administration Policy, documents released by the Office of the Press Secretary, and election debates.
The U.S. decennial censuses from 1790 to 2010.
Search America's historic newspapers pages from 1836-1922.
DocSouth includes texts, images, and audio files related to southern history, literature, and culture. Currently includes sixteen thematic collections of books, diaries, posters, artifacts, letters, oral history interviews, and songs.
Internet Modern History Sourcebook is a collection of links to historical texts presented for educational use.
Library of Congress digital collections. Includes primary sources on U.S. history.
Digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. This collection is thematically related to the Cornell University Making of America Collection, but includes different materials.
Digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. This collection is thematically related to the University of Michigan Making of America Collection, but includes different materials.
At the Institute’s core is the Gilder Lehrman Collection, one of the great archives in American history. More than 70,000 items cover five hundred years of American history, from Columbus’s 1493 letter describing the New World to soldiers’ letters from World War II and Vietnam. Explore primary sources, visit exhibitions in person or online, or bring your class on a field trip.
Correspondence and other writings of seven major shapers of the United States. Over 185,000 searchable documents, fully annotated, from the authoritative Founding Fathers Papers projects.
Discover images, texts, videos, and sounds from across the United States.
National Archives: archives.gov/milestone-documents/list
Digital Public Library of America: dp.la/browse-by-topic
Library of Congress: loc.gov/search
National Archives: archives.gov/milestone-documents/list
Avalon Project: avalon.law.yale.edu/subject_menus/chrono.asp#21
DocsTeach, National Archives https://www.docsteach.org/documents/documents?fe=czoxOiIzIjs=&rt=veRVPcEVKxLK
Timelines (Infobase)
Exploration and Colonization, 1350-1760 (ABC-CLIO)
The World Beyond Europe, 1500-1776 (ABC-CLIO)
The Thirteen Colonies (Inforbase)
Colonial Settlements Timeline (Inforbase)
Civil War America - background
The POWER Library offers another set of online resources. On campus you may use the links below, or login using the POWER Library Icon in your GoogleApps menu in your Penn Charter email.
AP Newsroom
View the greatest events in world history with photographs, audio sound bites, video, and graphics, for over 185 years. Over 3,000 photos/images/sound bites/graphics added daily, including audio and visual snapshots of breaking news events, today's hot topics, great moments in news, sports and entertainment, celebrity portraits, and 20 million royalty-free stock. [full description]
Black Freedom Struggle in the United States: A Selection of Primary Sources
The Black Freedom Struggle resource is provided at no cost to the POWER Library by ProQuest. It features select primary source documents related to critical people and events in African American history. By centering on the experiences and perspectives of African Americans, it is hoped that this collection imbues the study of Black history with a deeper understanding of the humanity of people who have pursued the quest for freedom, and the significance of movements like Black Lives Matter. [full description]
EBSCO E-Books
Select from over 16,000 eBooks from the world's leading publishers across all major subject areas. Perform full-text searches of a single eBook, search thousands of volumes simultaneously, browse topic categories, or read eBooks directly online. [full description]
Gale E-Books
Explore encyclopedias and specialized reference sources on a variety of topics from history, government, environment, math, and more! [full description]
Introduction to U.S. History: The American Revolution
This resource documents the revolution and war that created the United States Of America, from the Paris peace treaty in 1763 through the early protests in 1785 to the Paris peace treaty of 1783. The collection examines the political, social, and intellectual upheaval of the age, as well as the actual war for American independence through its eight long years of conflict. [full description]
Introduction to U.S. History: The Civil War
This resource documents the war that transformed America, ended slavery, and unified the nation around the principles of freedom. The collection examines the war and all its complexity – its causes and consequences and its leaders and common soldiers, the home front, and the military campground, and more. [full description]
Introduction to U.S. History: Slavery in America
This resource provides a significant account of the issue of slavery and its impact on American society and culture. It documents key aspects of the history of slavery in the United States, from its origins in Africa to its abolition, including materials on the slave trade, plantation life, emancipation, pro-slavery and anti-slavery arguments, religions views on slavery, and other related topics. [full description]
National Geographic Magazine Archive 1888-2020
This iconic monthly publication provides unparalleled, in-depth coverage of society, cultures, nature, science, technology, travel, geography, and more -- making it an essential resource for educators and students as well as general readers. This resource include complete, unlimited access to the magazine main content through 2020 -- every article from every issue, each fully searchable through an intuitive interface. [full description]
PA Photos and Documents
Explore millions of digitized photographs, documents, and newspapers from Pennsylvania's rich and varied history. The collections are provided by libraries and other organizations across the Commonwealth. [full description]
Time Magazine Archive 1923-2000
This archive presents an extensive collection of the prominent weekly news magazine dating back to its first issue in March 1923 through December 2000, presented in a comprehensive cover-to-cover format. The 4,000 issues include reports of national and international current events, politics, sports, and entertainment. [full description]
NEW RESOURCES (October 2024)
https://e-resources.powerlibrary.org/ext/validateglobal.php?cid=ECONTENT&lid=PL3045&dataid=2267
https://e-resources.powerlibrary.org/ext/validateglobal.php?cid=ECONTENT&lid=PL3045&dataid=2268
