LibGuides: 10-12th GR: Modern Africa resource guide: Welcome

Suggested resources by type

Access World News This link opens in a new window
Gale in Context Global Issues This link opens in a new window
Global Issues is updated daily and offers 250 country pages and more than 400 issue pages. More than 6,000 viewpoint commentaries provide background and guidance on significant topics like Food Security, Genocide, Human Rights, Extreme Weather, and more.
Issues (ABC-CLIO) This link opens in a new window
brings important issues in today’s world to students’ attention, highlighting the complete historical background, contemporary status, and global view of each. It provides students authoritative context, diverse expert perspectives, and carefully selected primary and secondary sources for truly understanding the issues that currently affect much of our global society, and for developing informed positions on those engendering controversy.
ProQuest Database collection This link opens in a new window
contains the full text of articles from over 2000 newspapers, magazines, journals
Culturegrams World Edition This link opens in a new window
Contains reports on more than 200 countries and cultures, focusing on twenty-five categories including history, personal appearance, gestures, family, economy, and more.
World Politics Review (Ehost): This link opens in a new window

For short biographical overviews about specific persons:

Encyclopedia of World Biography, 2nd ed., vol. 14, Gale, 2004. Gale eBooks, link.gale.com/apps/pub/5AWP/GVRL?u=pl3045&sid=bookmark-GVRL

For current information about each country in Africa, as well as historical background for Pre-Colonial, and Colonial Periods in Africa.

World Today Series - Africa - book updated every year. 910 WTS AFR 2020-2022

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
An archive of fully searchable back issues of scholarly journals in anthropology, African- American studies, ecology, economics, education, finance, general science, history, literature, music, philosophy, political science, sociology, and statistics.
ProQuest Database collection This link opens in a new window
contains the full text of articles from over 2000 newspapers, magazines, journals

Notes about these resources:

Proquest has Quarterly Country; Risk Reports: Trade and Investment Risk Reports, Economic Forecast Reports, Labour Market Risk Reports

Here are several samples:

Country economic forecasts > Botswana. (2021). (). Oxford: Oxford Economics Ltd. Retrieved from ProQuest Central Retrieved from https://www.proquest.com/reports/country-economic-forecasts-gt-botswana/docview/2603245553/se-2?accountid=5451

Nigeria country risk report - Q2 2022. (2022). (). London: Fitch Solutions Group Limited. Retrieved from ProQuest Central Retrieved from https://www.proquest.com/reports/nigeria-country-risk-report-q2-2022/docview/2631969389/se-2?accountid=5451

FAQ

Journal vs. Magazine: A magazine is a periodical targeted towards the general public. A journal is a periodical targeted towards an academic/ scholarly audience.

Proquest Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
More than 150,000 ebooks are available for multiple people to access at once. This new platform allows you to find books for your research in many subjects. Your PC Gmail username and password allow you to log in with a Single Sign On. These titles do not appear in the AccessIt catalog, so remember this source when looking for research or non-fiction books.

The course textbook, A History of Modern Africa: 1800 to the Present, 3rd Edition, is available in print in the Gummere Library.

Africa 2021-2023 (2 volumes) by Francis Wiafe-Amoako This book contains historical and current information about Africa as a whole, and for all the countries in Africa.
Call Number: 910 WTS AFR 2021-2022 or 2022-2023
ISBN: 9781475856491
Publication Date: 2021-09-15
Encyclopedia of African History by Kevin Shillington
Call Number: 960 E SHI (multiple volumes)
ISBN: 1579584543
Publication Date: 2005-01-01
Dictionary of African Biography by Emmanuel K. Akyeampong (Editor-In-Chief); Henry Louis Gates (Editor-In-Chief)
Call Number: 960 B AKY 2012 (multiple volumes)
ISBN: 9780195382075
Publication Date: 2011-12-08
Encyclopedia of African Colonial Conflicts by Timothy J. Stapleton
Call Number: 960.3 ENC (multiple volumes)
ISBN: 9781440849053
Publication Date: 2016-11-01

Africa Museum publications available on the web: Documents on Social Sciences and Humanities https://www.africamuseum.be/en/research/discover/publications/open-access/documents-social-sciences-humanities

AccessIt Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
Catalog of library books and online resources
You may browse the Catalog as a Guest or use Single Sign On / SSO to use other features such as "Holds" and to sign on to other databases and ebooks when you are off-campus.

About primary sources (link)

New York Times Historical Newspapers (Proquest) This link opens in a new window
Covers the New York Times from1851 - present - available in Proquest.
Graphical Interface
http://hn.bigchalk.com/hnweb/hn/do/search

National Archives - Africa Through a Lens https://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/africa/

Genocide Archive - https://genocidearchiverwanda.org.rw/index.php/Welcome_to_Genocide_Archive_Rwanda

Georgetown University - https://guides.library.georgetown.edu/c.php?g=75537&p=487188

Africana Historic Postcard Collection https://www.loc.gov/rr/amed/afs/africana-postcards.html

CURATED LISTINGS OF PRIMARY SOURCES FROM OTHER LIBRARIES

History : Africa: Primary Sources - Library Guides

https://guides.lib.uw.edu › research › primary A research guide to primary and secondary sources for African history.

African History: Primary Sources - Research Guides

https://bowdoin.libguides.com › c.php Examples of Primary Sources · Diaries, memoirs, autobiographies, letters, interviews, oral histories, personal narratives.

History primary sources | Stanford Libraries

https://library.stanford.edu › browse-topic › history-pri...

Web resources for Africa-related historical photographs. Maintained by the Stanford University Libraries. African National Congress Archives

Primary Sources - African History - UO Libraries Research ...

https://researchguides.uoregon.edu › african-history › Pri...

Primary Sources in African History ; African Newspapers, Series 1 · AllAfrica ; Empire Online · International Historical Statistics ; HistoryMakers · World Heritage.

Primary Sources - History of Africa - Research Guides

https://guides.emich.edu › histafrica › primarysources

Primary sources are materials that were created at the time period you are studying. In the case of memoirs, they are the materials recorded ...

Historical Primary Sources: Africa: Western Africa - Berkeley Library

https://guides.lib.berkeley.edu › africa › western

Historical Primary Sources: Africa: Western Africa ... A digitized collection of resources gathered by a doctoral student that "trace ...

History of South Africa: Primary Sources - Research Guides

https://guides.smu.edu › c.php

South African History Online. Contains both primary source documents and secondary source articles and entries.

Primary Sources - History (Sub-Saharan Africa) - LibGuides at ...

https://libguides.brown.edu › SubSaharanAfrica › primary

Documents the British campaign against Apartheid in Southern Africa, and its efforts to support the people of South Africa in their fight ...

Books in Library:

Historic Documents ( - )

Links to official country websites - NorthWestern LibGuide to Countries
The Internet Archive - a online collection of books, documents, images, videos, maps and other resource types
United Nations - has a huge site - look for country and regional info, as well as groups/committees about specific topics.
- Office of the UN High Commissioner for Refugees - Africa
- Africa Renewal https://www.un.org/africarenewal/ -emagazine and website
- Global Issues: Africa https://www.un.org/en/global-issues/africa
African regional organizations (not a complete listing):
Amnesty International - Africa.
Human Rights Watch.
CIA World Factbook
International Labour Organization (ILO)
Wilson Center - Africa
World Bank - Africa
Library of Congress
- African, Jewish, and Middle Eastern Studies: Digital Resources at the Library of Congress https://guides.loc.gov/african-jewish-middle-east-studies/african-studies/event-videos#s-lg-box-wrapper-31454401
- Contemporary African States https://www.loc.gov/rr/amed/guide/afr-contemporary.html
- General search "Africa" - there are many filters and limiters that may be applied to this basic search https://www.loc.gov/search/?q=africa&sp=1
University of Pittsburg Libraries
- African Studies and African Country Resources @ Pitt https://pitt.libguides.com/c.php?g=12378&p=65819

The Penguin atlas of African history

McEvedy, Colin

960 A MCE 1995

African History in Maps

Kwamena-Poh,

960 A KWA