Home - 8th GR: Civics - Non-Profits - LibGuides at William Penn Charter School

Suggested resources to get started

Pennsylvania Representatives
Use this to find your Representatives - Pennsylvania only
U.S. House of Representatives
National search
U.S. Congress -Representative
National search - Find your Congress person
U.S. Congress - leglislation
Legislative Roster - New Jersey
more...less...
Go to the end of the page to find your District

The websites below will help you locate organizations that match your area of interest. NONE OF THESE ARE COMPLETE LISTINGS!

Each has particular useful features such as searching by type of organization, location(s), information about or their mission, budget, etc.

Once you have found some organizations, go to their websites and explore.

How to give back in Philly: Ways to volunteer, donate, and support local groups (Philadelphia Inquirer)
Global Philadelphia Includes a directory of selected organizations.
GreatNonprofits A national listing of selected non-profit organizations. You may search by name, State/City, or Category.
Immigration Platform - New Jersey Links to selected non-profit organizations in New Jersey.
Immigration Platform - Philadelphia Links to selected organizations in the Philadelphia area.
19 Organizations You Can Volunteer at Around Philadelphia (Philadelphia Magazine)
Ms Goodner's list of Local Organizations
This list was compiled by Ms. Goodner for the class.
Nonprofit Explorer Allows you to review Tax filings about organizations. Also provides startup dates.
30 Great Philly Nonprofits to Give To This Year (Philadelphia Magazine) A list form November 2012 selected by Philadelphia Magazine.

Use these databases to find background information about your topic. Both of these databases will export citations to your Noodletools project!

Gale in Context Global Issues This link opens in a new window Global Issues is updated daily and offers 250 country pages and more than 400 issue pages. More than 6,000 viewpoint commentaries provide background and guidance on significant topics like Food Security, Genocide, Human Rights, Extreme Weather, and more.
Issues (ABC-CLIO) This link opens in a new window brings important issues in today’s world to students’ attention, highlighting the complete historical background, contemporary status, and global view of each. It provides students authoritative context, diverse expert perspectives, and carefully selected primary and secondary sources for truly understanding the issues that currently affect much of our global society, and for developing informed positions on those engendering controversy.

Use these resources to explore for background information about your topic. These are not good places to not information about specific non-profit organizations.

Look for articles:

In ProQuest:

The Inquirer - this file goes back to 1984.

On the Web:

The Inquirer (Philadelphia) - also in our ProQuest database collection - link
The Times Herald (Montgomery County, Pennsylvania)
The Trentonian (New Jersey)

Search tips and strategies

Use quotation marks for more accurate searching. Example: "cradles to crayons".

Export citations from databases into your Noodletools project. For websites you will need to build your citation from scratch. In addition to the URL, you should look for an author, who the website publisher is, the date of the page (may have to use the website's general copyright).

Ask for help!