LibGuides: 11-12th GR: Women &amp; Gender in American History: Welcome

Suggested resources by type

Gale in Context Global Issues This link opens in a new window
Global Issues is updated daily and offers 250 country pages and more than 400 issue pages. More than 6,000 viewpoint commentaries provide background and guidance on significant topics like Food Security, Genocide, Human Rights, Extreme Weather, and more.
Issues (ABC-CLIO) This link opens in a new window
brings important issues in today’s world to students’ attention, highlighting the complete historical background, contemporary status, and global view of each. It provides students authoritative context, diverse expert perspectives, and carefully selected primary and secondary sources for truly understanding the issues that currently affect much of our global society, and for developing informed positions on those engendering controversy.
ProQuest Database collection This link opens in a new window
contains the full text of articles from over 2000 newspapers, magazines, journals

For short biographical overviews about specific persons:

Encyclopedia of World Biography, 2nd ed., vol. 14, Gale, 2004. Gale eBooks, link.gale.com/apps/pub/5AWP/GVRL?u=pl3045&sid=bookmark-GVRL. ALSO IN PRINT

JSTOR This link opens in a new window An archive of fully searchable back issues of scholarly journals in anthropology, African- American studies, ecology, economics, education, finance, general science, history, literature, music, philosophy, political science, sociology, and statistics.
ProQuest Database collection This link opens in a new window contains the full text of articles from over 2000 newspapers, magazines, journals

Proquest Ebook Central This link opens in a new window USE THE ISBN to cite these books. Be sure to indicate that the book is from a database, and to add the URL from "Share this link"

Selected readings - secondary sources

American National Biography - various entries fro specific persons.

305.4 CHE Encyclopedia of Women in American History. 1820-1900 (three volumes) Also an ebook

610.6952 ABR Ruth J. Abram. Send Us A Lady Physician : women doctors in America, 1835-1920 -- New York : Norton, 1985.

610.6952 BLA Elizabeth Blackwell, Pioneer Work In Opening The Medical Profession To Women -- London and New York : Longmans, Green, and Co, 1895.

610.6952 BLA BOY Julia Boyd. The excellent Doctor Blackwell : the life of the first woman physician -- London: Thistle Publishing, 2013.

610.6952 MOR Ellen Singer More. Restoring the balance : women physicians and the profession of medicine, 1850-1995 -- Cambridge, Mass. : Harvard University Press, 1999.

610.6952 MOR Regina Markell Morantz-Sanchez. Sympathy & science : women physicians in American medicine -- Chapel Hill : University of North Carolina Press, 2000.

610.6952 WEL Susan Wells. Out of the Dead House : nineteenth-century women physicians and the writing of medicine -- Madison : University of Wisconsin Press, c2001.

610.71 PEI Steven J. Peitzman. A new and untried course : Woman's Medical College and Medical College of Pennsylvania, 1850-1998 -- New Brunswick, N.J. : Rutgers University Press, c2000.

SAMPLE EBOOKS:

Boulis, Ann K.;Jacobs, Jerry A. The Changing Face of Medicine : Women Doctors and the Evolution of Health Care in America

Cornell University Press 2011 ISBN number:9780801444463, ISBN number:9780801463495

Morantz-Sanchez, Regina Sympathy and Science : Women Physicians in American Medicine

The University of North Carolina Press 1999

ISBN number:9780807848906, ISBN number:9780807876084

Witches, Midwives, & Nurses : A History of Women Healers

Ehrenreich, Barbara;English, Deirdre The Feminist Press at CUNY 2010

ISBN number:9781558616615, ISBN number:9781558616905

Vital Force : Women in American Homeopathy

Kirschmann, Anne Taylor Rutgers University Press 2003

ISBN: ISBN number:9780813533193, ISBN number:9780813535449

Precarious Prescriptions : Contested Histories of Race and Health in North America

Green, Laurie B.;Mckiernan-González, John;and more University of Minnesota Press 2014

ISBN: ISBN number:9780816690473, ISBN number:9781452941622

AccessIt Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
Catalog of library books and online resources
You may browse the Catalog as a Guest or use Single Sign On / SSO to use other features such as "Holds" and to sign on to other databases and ebooks when you are off-campus.

About primary sources (link)

New York Times Historical Newspapers (Proquest) This link opens in a new window
Covers the New York Times from1851 - present - available in Proquest.
Graphical Interface
http://hn.bigchalk.com/hnweb/hn/do/search

Womens History Month A Library of Congress website.
American Women's History Initiative - Smithsonian Institution
Links to Internet Sites about Women’s History Austin Community College History Department
A site containing many links.