LibGuides: Bibliography: John Flagg Gummere: Home

John Flagg Gummere - a bibliography of works by, and works about him

Compiled by Douglas Uhlmann - William Penn Charter School - John F. Gummere Library

Dr. Gummere, a.k.a. “Chief” was a prolific writer. He wrote about the education profession and independent schools, and what would seem to be his primary passion, Latin. This bibliography provides a cursory overview of resources in the public sphere and includes published letters, published books, as well as articles written by him or about him. Collectively these sources provide a glimpse into his work as a Quaker educator, Head of School, and as a Latin teacher.

General project details:

Limited to fulltext or indexed content currently online. This includes subscription databases, and content behind other paywalls
Duplicate entries may be intentionally included when they are from different publication editions, or different database repositories
Does not include known content from the Philadelphia Inquirer (Gummere’s column) and other as of yet, undigitized content.
Does not (yet) include proper annotations, though some records may include notes

Bibliography formatting (many formatting details are lost in the Libguides conversion)

While major citation export errors have been addressed, others likely persist.
When multiple authors are included for a resource, “Gummere” has intentionally, though incorrectly in many cases, been moved to the “pole” position

Bibliography

Link to current version in Noodletools
This link goes to the most recent revisions of this resource.
Researchers at Penn Charter may request to be added as a collaborator in Noodletools to this project.

Works Cited (note that LibGuides does not retain proper formatting)

May 31, 2024 version upload

"250th Year Is Marked: School Observes Anniversary of First Penn Charter." New York Times (1923-), 1951, p. 34. ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times, www.proquest.com/historical-newspapers/250th-year-is-marked/docview/111934960/se-2?accountid=5451.

Augustus, et al. Caesaris Augusti Res Gestae ; Et, Fragmenta. 2nd ed., Detroit, Wayne State UP, 1990. ProQuest Ebook Central, ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/penncharter/detail.action?docID=3416421.

Gummere is mention in the Preface:

"The editors wish to acknowledge gratefully the kindness of Sig. Riccardo Davico, Secretary of the American Academy in Rome, in supplying illustrations of the Forum of Augustus and the Theater of Marcellus; and of Professor W. L. Carr, General Editor of this series, and Dr. John F. Gummere of the William Penn Charter School, who read the book in proof and made valuable suggestions."

Bachrach, Fabian. "Lack of Linguists in U.S. is Scored: Educator Attacks 'illiteracy' as Disgrace--Tuition Plan Fetes Devereux Josephs Urged as Aid to Peace." New York Times (1923-), 1957, p. 29. ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times, www.proquest.com/historical-newspapers/lack-linguists-u-s-is-scored/docview/114267091/se-2?accountid=5451.

"Back Material 1 -- No Title." Changing Times (pre-1986), 1950, p. 3. ProQuest Central, www.proquest.com/trade-journals/back-material-1-no-title/docview/199062001/se-2?accountid=5451.

Benario, Herbert W. Caesaris Augusti: Res Gestae Et Fragmenta. Wayne State University Press, Wayne State UP, 1990. Caesaris Augusti. Ebook Central, www.proquest.com/books/caesaris-augusti/docview/2131113866/se-2?accountid=5451.

"Books: Words & C." Friends Journal, vol. 36, no. 1, Jan. 1990, p. 42, www.friendsjournal.org/wp-content/uploads/emember/downloads/1990/HC12-50847.pdf.

"Words & C By John F. Gummere. Published by Martha C. Gummere, Words & C, Box 411, Haverford, PA 19041, 1989. 128 pages. $15. Named after the author's former column in The Philadelphia Inquirer, this book offers opportunities to marvel at the flair and beauty of English while observing its absurdities and contradictions. As the reader discovers dialect and diction, etymology and orthography, it becomes clear that simplicity of style is one of the most important survival techniques of phonetic or linguistic form. This is pinpointed in discussion about development of language as reflecting societal norms and cultural nuances. The author seeks to teach language as a symbol of life."

Ciccarelli, Maura C. "The Notables and Oddballs down under." Philadelphia Inquirer, 1984. ProQuest Central, www.proquest.com/newspapers/notables-oddballs-down-under/docview/1820048694/se-2?accountid=5451.

The Classical Journal. Vol. 59, no. 6, 1964. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/3294613.

The Classical Outlook. Vol. 17, no. 7, 1940. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/43928995.

The Classical Outlook. Vol. 63, no. 3, 1986. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/43935056.

The Classical Outlook. Vol. 70, no. 1, 1992. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/43936937.

The Classical Outlook. Vol. 15, no. 8, 1938. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/43935486.

The Classical Weekly. Vol. 36, no. 20, 1943. JSTOR, https://doi.org/10.2307/4341701.

The Classical Weekly. Vol. 36, no. 17, 1943. JSTOR, https://doi.org/10.2307/4341667.

The Classical World. Vol. 60, no. 4, 1966. JSTOR, https://doi.org/10.2307/4346172.

The Classical World. Vol. 64, no. 3, 1970. JSTOR, https://doi.org/10.2307/4347327.

The Classical World. Vol. 56, no. 6, 1963. JSTOR, https://doi.org/10.2307/4345089.

The Classical World. Vol. 58, no. 3, 1964. JSTOR, https://doi.org/10.2307/4345546.

The Classical World. Vol. 85, no. 2, 1991. JSTOR, https://doi.org/10.2307/4351020.

The Classical World. Vol. 66, no. 8, 1973. JSTOR, https://doi.org/10.2307/4347922.

The Classical World. Vol. 71, no. 3, 1977. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/4348845.

The Classical World. Vol. 61, no. 4, 1967. JSTOR, https://doi.org/10.2307/4346435.

"Cousins Would Bar Secession from U.N." New York Times (1923-), 1947, p. 4. ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times, www.proquest.com/historical-newspapers/cousins-would-bar-secession-u-n/docview/107796966/se-2?accountid=5451.

Currivan, Gene. "Educator Urges Revival of Latin: Rutgers Head Says Study of Subject is Needed to Strengthen English." New York Times (1923-), 1961, p. 86. ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times, www.proquest.com/historical-newspapers/educator-urges-revival-latin/docview/115254116/se-2?accountid=5451.

"Education Shift Seen: President of Bryn Mawr Cites Effect of Science Advance." New York Times (1923-), 1960, p. 33. ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times, www.proquest.com/historical-newspapers/education-shift-seen/docview/115055397/se-2?accountid=5451.

"Educator Scores Pupil Counseling: Says Failure at High School Level Defers Many Gifted Children from College Earl Admission Urged." New York Times (1923-), 1956, p. 71. ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times, www.proquest.com/historical-newspapers/educator-scores-pupil-counseling/docview/113519917/se-2?accountid=5451.

"Educator Warns on Too Easy Life: Dr. J. F. Gummere Calls for Stress on 'risk, Opportunity and Scope for Imagination.'" New York Times (1923-), 1952, p. 79. ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times, www.proquest.com/historical-newspapers/educator-warns-on-too-easy-life/docview/112400471/se-2?accountid=5451.

"Events in the Metropolitan Area for Coming Week." New York Times (1923-), 1948, p. 58. ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times, www.proquest.com/historical-newspapers/events-metropolitan-area-coming-week/docview/108402946/se-2?accountid=5451.

Fintes, Benjamin. "Colleges Warned of Student Influx: Educator Sees Enrollments Topping 3,000,000 by 1960, Asks Revised Curricula." New York Times (1923-), 1949, p. 12. ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times, www.proquest.com/historical-newspapers/colleges-warned-student-influx/docview/105876770/se-2?accountid=5451.

Gummere, Henry V., and John F. Gummere. "Dating Metamorphoses 2.1-346." The Classical Weekly, vol. 35, no. 20, 1942, p. 233. JSTOR, https://doi.org/10.2307/4341465.

Gummere, John F. "'Latin' Plurals." American Speech, vol. 30, no. 2, 1955, pp. 129-30. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/454278.

---. "The Ablative of Additional Information." The Classical Outlook, vol. 38, no. 5, 1961, p. 53. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/43928897.

---. "Aeneid 1.42." The Classical Outlook, vol. 51, no. 8, 1974, p. 86. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/43932110.

---. "AGMA." The Classical Outlook, vol. 54, no. 8, 1977, pp. 88-89. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/43933808.

---. "Anagrams." The Classical Outlook, vol. 48, no. 4, 1970, p. 40. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/43931228.

---. "Annual Meeting." The Classical Weekly, vol. 32, no. 1, 1938, pp. 3-5. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/4340341.

---. "Annual Meeting." The Classical Weekly, vol. 32, no. 24, 1939, pp. 280-82. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/4340619.

---. "CAAS Minutes." The Classical Weekly, vol. 33, no. 25, 1940, pp. 297-98. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/4340966.

CAAS a.k.a Classical Association of Atlantic States

---. "Cinderella's Fur Slipper." The Classical Outlook, vol. 62, no. 4, 1985, p. 115. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/43934944.

---. "Classroom Applications of Historical Latin Grammar." The Classical World, vol. 54, no. 8, 1961, pp. 245-47. JSTOR, https://doi.org/10.2307/4344597.

---. "Classroom Applications of Rhotacism and Vowel Weakening." The Classical World, vol. 53, no. 8, 1960, pp. 254-55. JSTOR, https://doi.org/10.2307/4344365.

---. "A Common-Sense Attitude toward Latin." Latin Notes, vol. 5, no. 4, 1928, pp. 1-2. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/43942706.

---. "Content In the Third Year." Latin Notes, vol. 6, no. 3, 1928, p. 2. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/43942748.

---. "Cups for Proficiency in College Board Latin Examinations." Latin Notes, vol. 7, no. 2, 1929, p. 5. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/43943501.

---. "DERIVATIVE DEMONS." The Classical Outlook, vol. 18, no. 4, 1941, p. 39. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/44006570.

---. "Diversity of Schools." New York Times (1923-), 1952, p. 1. ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times, www.proquest.com/historical-newspapers/diversity-schools/docview/112361100/se-2?accountid=5451.

---. "The 'DT'S.'" The Classical Outlook, vol. 61, no. 4, 1984, p. 111. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/43934845.

---. "An Examination." The Classical Outlook, vol. 19, no. 4, 1942, p. 35. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/44006212.

---. "An Examination on Horace." The Classical Outlook, vol. 16, no. 1, 1938, p. 6. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/44005820.

---. "From the Mountains, to the Prairies..." New York Times (1923-), 1980, p. 1. ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times, www.proquest.com/historical-newspapers/mountains-prairies/docview/121101018/se-2?accountid=5451.

---. "Hints for Teachers." The Classical Journal, vol. 32, no. 4, 1937, pp. 242-48. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/3290968.

---. The History of the Philadelphia Regiment : Volunteer Port Security Force. Philadelphia, International Printing Co, [1946].

Copy available in the Penn Charter Archives.

---. "A Horace Sampler: Live the Live-Long Day (Ode 1.11)." The Classical Outlook, vol. 64, no. 3, 1987, p. 86. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/43935168.

---. "How to Play Ball - and Finish College." The Christian Science Monitor, 1982. ProQuest Central, www.proquest.com/newspapers/how-play-ball-finish-college/docview/1069238256/se-2?accountid=5451.

---. "Imagination in Translation." The Classical Journal, vol. 65, no. 4, 1970, p. 179. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/3295557.

---. "In Deo Speramus." The Classical Outlook, vol. 18, no. 6, 1941, p. 56. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/44006096.

---. "The Independent School in American Culture." Teachers College Record: The Voice of Scholarship in Education, vol. 62, no. 6, Mar. 1961, pp. 1-7, https://doi.org/10.1177/016146816106200604.

PAYWALL: SAGE JOURNALS

---. "An Interesting Experiment." Latin Notes, vol. 5, no. 1, 1927, p. 3. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/43942695.

---. "Intonation Patterns as Structural Signals." American Speech, vol. 28, no. 3, 1953, p. 199. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/454136.

---. "Latin and Italian." The Classical Outlook, vol. 15, no. 6, 1938, pp. 42-43. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/43928604.

---. "A Latin Classroom." The Classical Outlook, vol. 17, no. 4, 1940, p. 33. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/43931770.

---. "Latin Grammar in Proper Perspective." The Classical Journal, vol. 45, no. 1, 1949, pp. 37-40. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/3293303.

---. "Latin Has Only Sixteen Consonants." The Classical Outlook, vol. 55, no. 2, 1977, pp. 34-35. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/43937307.

---. "Latin on Our Dollar Bills." Latin Notes, vol. 10, no. 7, 1933, p. 2. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/43943090.

---. "A Latin Pangram." The Classical Outlook, vol. 54, no. 3, 1976, p. 26. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/43933734.

---. "Latin Paradigm Efficiency in the First Year." The Classical Weekly, vol. 19, no. 9, 1925, pp. 67-68. JSTOR, https://doi.org/10.2307/30107737.

---. "A Lesson about Service." Friends Journal, vol. 16, no. 5, Mar. 1970, p. 133.

---. "Letters: The Other Side of the Coin." AAUP Bulletin, vol. 48, no. 4, 1962, p. 384. JSTOR, https://doi.org/10.2307/40222940.

---. "Linguistic Science." The Classical Journal, vol. 44, no. 3, 1948, pp. 228-30. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/3292587.

---. "Litterae Mixtae." The Classical Outlook, vol. 63, no. 3, 1986, pp. 96-100. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/43935047.

---. "Meanwhile, Back at the Ranch." The Classical Outlook, vol. 41, no. 9, 1964, p. 105. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/43933258.

---. "Medicus Ipse Dixit." The Classical Outlook, vol. 64, no. 4, 1987, p. 106. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/43935193.

---. "Mitto, 'Let Go.'" The Classical Journal, vol. 67, no. 1, 1971, p. 59. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/3295526.

---. "More about The Latin Cp 2 Examination." Latin Notes, vol. 12, no. 5, 1935, p. 2. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/43943204.

---. "Morphophonemics Can Be Fun." The Classical World, vol. 63, no. 3, 1969, pp. 86-87. JSTOR, https://doi.org/10.2307/4347020.

---. "Mr. White Reassured." The Classical Journal, vol. 45, no. 6, 1950, pp. 268-70. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/3293682.

---. "Never Trust an Ink Mark." The Classical Outlook, vol. 62, no. 1, 1984, p. 7. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/43934866.

---. "New Translation Depicts Aeneas as 'a Man Apart.'" Philadelphia Inquirer, 1984. ProQuest Central, www.proquest.com/newspapers/new-translation-depicts-aeneas-as-man-apart/docview/1819942649/se-2?accountid=5451.

---. Old Penn Charter. Philadelphia, William Penn Charter School, 1973.

---. "One Gentleman of Verona." The Classical Outlook, vol. 17, no. 5, 1940, p. 47. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/43928668.

---. "Petere, 'Move.'" The Classical Journal, vol. 65, no. 4, 1970, pp. 178-79. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/3295556.

---. "Prepositions Don't 'Take' Any Case." The Classical Outlook, vol. 29, no. 5, 1952, p. 48. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/44005712.

---. "Quomodo Quaedam Opera Latine Reddita Sunt." The Classical World, vol. 62, no. 6, 1969, pp. 209-10. JSTOR, https://doi.org/10.2307/4346810.

---. "Reviewed Work: Constancy in Livy's Latinity by Konrad Gries." Language, vol. 27, no. 2, 1951, pp. 187-88. JSTOR, https://doi.org/10.2307/410436.

---. "Revision." The Classical Outlook, vol. 49, no. 2, 1971, p. 16. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/43931523.

---. "Sanskrit." The Classical Journal, vol. 67, no. 2, 1971, p. 178. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/3296515.

---. "Scansion Depends on Syllable Length." The Classical Weekly, vol. 45, no. 13, 1952, pp. 201-02. JSTOR, https://doi.org/10.2307/4343181.

---. "A Selection for Sight Reading." Latin Notes, vol. 3, no. 7, 1926. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/43942599.

---. "Semantics in the Classroom." The Classical Outlook, vol. 17, no. 8, 1940, p. 77. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/43933126.

---. "Sharp." The Classical Outlook, vol. 48, no. 6, 1971, p. 63. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/43931317.

---. "The Ships in Lake Nemi." The Classical Weekly, vol. 22, no. 13, 1929, pp. 97-98. JSTOR, https://doi.org/10.2307/4389262.

---. "Shrinkage." The Classical Outlook, vol. 47, no. 4, 1969, p. 43. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/43931048.

---. "Summaries of the Twelve Books of The Aeneid." Latin Notes, vol. 7, no. 2, 1929, pp. 5-6. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/43943502.

---. "Teaching Language through Latin." The Classical Outlook, vol. 27, no. 1, 1949, pp. 1-3. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/44006136.

---. "Telling the Truth in Textbooks." The Classical Weekly, vol. 44, no. 2, 1950, pp. 17-19. JSTOR, https://doi.org/10.2307/4342784.

---. "Ten Latin Trivia." The Classical Outlook, vol. 63, no. 1, 1985, p. 5. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/43935728.

---. "10 Questions That Get at Heart of a College." New York Times, Late Edition (East Coast) ed., 1984. ProQuest Central, www.proquest.com/newspapers/10-questions-that-get-at-heart-college/docview/425781848/se-2?accountid=5451.

---. "10 Questions That Get at Heart of a College." New York Times (1923-), 1984, p. 1. ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times, www.proquest.com/historical-newspapers/10-questions-that-get-at-heart-college/docview/122497665/se-2?accountid=5451.

---. "Third Conjugation, Present Indicative." The Classical Weekly, vol. 42, no. 4, 1948, pp. 59-60. JSTOR, https://doi.org/10.2307/4342494.

---. "Third Declension, Worse Confounded." The Classical Weekly, vol. 39, no. 18, 1946, pp. 142-43. JSTOR, https://doi.org/10.2307/4342231.

---. "Through—Stop—Traffic." The Classical Outlook, vol. 15, no. 7, 1938, p. 52. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/43928980.

---. "Topper and per." The Classical Outlook, vol. 61, no. 3, 1984, p. 87. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/43934827.

---. "A Translation Device." The Classical Journal, vol. 62, no. 8, 1967, pp. 346-47. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/3295587.

---. "A Translation Project." Latin Notes, vol. 8, no. 3, 1930, pp. 1-2. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/43942904.

---. "Varium et Mutabile Semper Ille." The Classical Outlook, vol. 60, no. 3, 1983, p. 76. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/43934626.

---. "Vergil's Football Line." The Classical Outlook, vol. 47, no. 9, 1970, p. 101. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/43936349.

---. "Vergil Used the Popular Form." The Classical Journal, vol. 65, no. 1, 1969, p. 27. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/3295667.

---. "Vivent Les Différences!" The Classical Outlook, vol. 64, no. 1, 1986, p. 26. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/43935107.

---. "Well worth Reading." Latin Notes, vol. 10, no. 8, 1933, p. 2. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/43943102.

---. "When Latin Spells English." The Classical Outlook, vol. 58, no. 3, 1981, p. 72. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/43934331.

Gummere, John F., et al. "Epigrammata Martialis." The Classical Outlook, vol. 61, no. 2, 1983, pp. 54-57. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/43934768.

---. "Panel of Reactors." Educational Horizons, vol. 49, no. 4, 1971, pp. 187-88. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/42925671.

---. "In the Classroom." The Classical Weekly, vol. 31, no. 18, 1938, pp. 179-80. JSTOR, https://doi.org/10.2307/4340271.

Gummere, John F., and Robert A. Hall. "Grammarian's Funeral." The Classical Journal, vol. 46, no. 5, 1951, pp. 266-68. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/3292959.

Gummere, John F., and Annabel Horn. Using Latin : Book Two. Scott, Foresman, 1955.

Gummere, John F., et al. "Four Comments on Horace, 'Carmina' 1.2.13-16." The Classical Weekly, vol. 19, no. 15, 1926, p. 126. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/30107857.

Gummere, John Flagg. "Study of Languages and Language in Friends Schools." Friends Journal, 12 Mar. 1960, www.friendsjournal.org/wp-content/uploads/emember/downloads/1960/HC12-50227.pdf.

Gummere, John Flagg, et al. Model statements of Latin syntax, by a joint committee of the Philadelphia Classical Society and the Latin Conference of the Private School Teachers' Association of Philadelphia, John F. Gummere, chairman. J.C. Winston Company, [1935].

Gummere, John Flagg. Words & C. Wauconda, Bolchazy-Carducci Publishers, 1990.

Hallett, Judith P. "Expanding Our Professional Embrace: The American Philological Association/Society for Classical Studies 1970–2019." TAPA, vol. 149, nos. 2 Supplement, 2019, pp. S-61-S-87. ProQuest Central, https://doi.org/10.1353/apa.2019.0018.

"Headmaster to Speak at Tea." New York Times (1923-), 1950, p. 37. ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times, www.proquest.com/historical-newspapers/headmaster-speak-at-tea/docview/111570305/se-2?accountid=5451.

"Heads Country Day School Group." New York Times (1923-), 1950, p. 17. ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times, www.proquest.com/historical-newspapers/heads-country-day-sohool-group/docview/111667389/se-2?accountid=5451.

Hechinger, Fred M. "Education: Too Few Negroes Stress on Recruiting Called Key to Private School Integration." New York Times (1923-), 1964, p. 1. ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times, www.proquest.com/historical-newspapers/education/docview/115579730/se-2?accountid=5451.

Illson, Murray. "Gideonse Backs School Standard: Answers Critic of Closing Ordered by La Guardia." New York Times (1923-), 1962, p. 83. ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times, www.proquest.com/historical-newspapers/gideonse-backs-school-standard/docview/115596814/se-2?accountid=5451.

"John F. Gummere, 86, Quaker Headmaster." New York Times, Late Edition (East Coast) ed., 1988. ProQuest Central, www.proquest.com/newspapers/john-f-gummere-86-quaker-headmaster/docview/426714770/se-2?accountid=5451.

"John F. Gummere, 86, Quaker Headmaster." New York Times (1923-), 1988, p. 1. ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times, www.proquest.com/historical-newspapers/john-f-gummere-86-quaker-headmaster/docview/110614049/se-2?accountid=5451.

"Latest Books Received: Latest Books Latest Books Received." New York Times (1923-), 1942, p. 3. ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times, www.proquest.com/historical-newspapers/latest-books-received/docview/106174831/se-2?accountid=5451.

"Letters to the Editor - Amateur Wages." Philadelphia Inquirer, 1984. ProQuest Central, www.proquest.com/newspapers/letters-editor-amateur-wages/docview/1819989460/se-2?accountid=5451.

"Letters to the Editor - Next Mpqlfday." Philadelphia Inquirer, 1983. ProQuest Central, www.proquest.com/newspapers/letters-editor-next-mpqlfday/docview/1814361854/se-2?accountid=5451.

"Letters to the Editor: Sound Approach." Wall Street Journal, Eastern ed., 1985, p. 1. ProQuest Central, www.proquest.com/newspapers/letters-editor-sound-approach/docview/398031726/se-2?accountid=5451.

"Letters to the Editor: There They Go." Philadelphia Inquirer, 1986. ProQuest Central, www.proquest.com/newspapers/letters-editor/docview/1830724937/se-2?accountid=5451.

Lynch, C. Arthur, et al. "Hints for Teachers." The Classical Journal, vol. 37, no. 4, 1942, pp. 239-47. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/3291621.

M., Jennifer. "Dr John Flagg Gummere." Find a Grave, 2024.

Location: New Haverford Friends Meeting Burial Ground

Haverford Township, Delaware County, Pennsylvania

The Modern Language Journal. Vol. 49, no. 8, 1965. JSTOR, https://doi.org/10.2307/323345.

Murley, Clyde, and John F. Gummere. "Dicenda Tacenda." The Classical Journal, vol. 47, no. 3, 1951, pp. 117-18. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/3293659.

"New Pingry School in Jersey Dedicated." New York Times (1923-), 1953, p. 29. ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times, www.proquest.com/historical-newspapers/new-pingry-school-jersey-dedicated/docview/112604535/se-2?accountid=5451.

"Obituary 1 -- No Title." New York Times (1923-), 1956, p. 88. ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times, www.proquest.com/historical-newspapers/obituary-1-no-title/docview/113513592/se-2?accountid=5451.

Mrs. Henry V. Gummere, a.k.a. Lynn Flagg Gummere, mother of John F. Gummere

"On the Radio Today." New York Times (1923-), 1948, p. 46. ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times, www.proquest.com/historical-newspapers/on-radio-today/docview/108404770/se-2?accountid=5451.

"Our Town." Philadelphia Inquirer, 1983, p. 6. ProQuest Central, www.proquest.com/newspapers/our-town/docview/1814368934/se-2?accountid=5451.

"Planning Stressed In Child Activities: In Most Homes There is Too Much or Too Little of it, Four Experts Agree on Forum." New York Times (1923-), 1948, p. 20. ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times, www.proquest.com/historical-newspapers/planning-stressed-child-activities/docview/108415350/se-2?accountid=5451.

"Professors Set up Exchange Bureau: Plan Approved by Classical Association at Convention That Opens Here." New York Times (1923-), 1940, p. 8. ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times, www.proquest.com/historical-newspapers/professors-set-up-exchahge-bureau/docview/105393474/se-2?accountid=5451.

Safire, William. "Booked for the Season: [SUNDAY Edition]." San Francisco Chronicle (pre-1997 Fulltext), 1989. ProQuest Central, www.proquest.com/newspapers/booked-season/docview/302519537/se-2?accountid=5451.

Review of Words & C:

"... If you're willing to take the trouble to write away for a book, also try ''Words &C'' (meaning ''Words, Etc.'') by John F. Gummere, the late language columnist for The Philadelphia Inquirer. In one of his essays, he shows the way languages can shorten words down to a nubbin: mea domina, five syllables in Latin for ''my lady,'' is cut to three in Italian's madonna, two in French's madame. In English, one more letter is clipped in madam and one more syllable goes in m'am. Finally, there's a vocalic consonant of one letter in yes'm. (Send $14 - Pennsylvania residents add 75 cents sales tax - to Words &C, Box 411, Haverford, Pa. 19041.) ...

---. "O Little Town of Plugsville." New York Times (1923-), 1989, p. 2. ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times, www.proquest.com/historical-newspapers/o-little-town-plugsville/docview/110351887/se-2?accountid=5451.

---. "On Language; O Little Town of Plugsville." New York Times, Late Edition (East Coast) ed., 1989. ProQuest Central, www.proquest.com/newspapers/on-language-o-little-town-plugsville/docview/427484737/se-2?accountid=5451.

---. "On Language; O Little Town of Plugsville." The New York Times Magazine, 3 Dec. 1989. Gale OneFile: High School Edition, link.gale.com/apps/doc/A175810255/STOM?u=pl9999r&sid=bookmark-STOM&xid=d1054d35.

"School Gets $300,000: Penn Charter Is Given Grant to Aid Science Teaching." New York Times (1923-), 1958, p. 133. ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times, www.proquest.com/historical-newspapers/school-gets-300-000/docview/114535467/se-2?accountid=5451.

"School Groups Join in New Association [NAIS]." New York Times (1923-), 1962, p. 12. ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times, www.proquest.com/historical-newspapers/school-groups-join-new-association/docview/115994515/se-2?accountid=5451.

[NAIS] a.k.a. National Association of Independent Schools

"Schools Urged to Focus on Better Pupils; 'Off-Street Parking' Advised for Others." New York Times (1923-), 1958, p. 64. ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times, www.proquest.com/historical-newspapers/schools-urged-focus-on-better-pupils-off-street/docview/114446915/se-2?accountid=5451.

"School Trustees Urged to Pool Knowledge and to Invite Teachers to Their Meetings." New York Times (1923-), 1953, p. 87. ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times, www.proquest.com/historical-newspapers/school-trustees-urged-pool-knowledge-invite/docview/112573443/se-2?accountid=5451.

Silary, Ted. "Inter-Ac Rivalry Moves into 2nd Century." Philadelphia Daily News, 1986, p. 84. ProQuest Central, www.proquest.com/newspapers/inter-ac-rivalry-moves-into-2nd-century/docview/1830690335/se-2?accountid=5451.

Skoda, Charles P., and John F. Gummere. "Letters." Scientific American, vol. 205, no. 4, 1961, pp. 16-28. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/24937099.

"Special Training Upheld: Leaders Aided in Independent Schools, Headmaster Says." New York Times (1923-), 1948, p. 54. ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times, www.proquest.com/historical-newspapers/special-training-upheld/docview/108312067/se-2?accountid=5451.

Woodall, Martha. "The Private School Phenomenon." Philadelphia Inquirer [Philadelphia], 1984. ProQuest Central, www.proquest.com/newspapers/private-school-phenomenon/docview/1819991219/se-2?accountid=5451.

"...John F. Gummere, retired headmaster of the William Penn Charter School in Germantown, contends that while Philadelphia may be the fifth largest city in the country, in many ways it remains a small town.

"Tradition is strong in this place," he said. "It's important in Philadelphia society where you went to school."..."