LibGuides: 10-12th GR: Environmental Ethics Research: Home

Suggested Resources

DATABASES:

Proquest -several THOUSAND different titles are in this extensive collection of magazines, newspapers, government and other publications.

ABC-CLIO Issues

Gale's World Issues in Context

Gale in Context: Environmental Studies

BOOKS:

The library collection includes current and works by many writers of seminal naturalist & environmental works. Here are some of the better known authors featured in our collection:

AUTHORS OF NOTE:

John Muir - the library owns a collection of his original writings.

Rachel Carson

John & William Bartrum

Al Gore

Bill McKibben

Michael Pollan

Selected Reference Books:

Encyclopedia of Ethics (print book only)

Dictionary of Ideas (print and Ebook)

VIDEOS (DVDs in Library)

Internet videos are listed in the center column

NPR

"environmental ethics" site:npr.org

https://stateimpact.npr.org/pennsylvania/

TED Talks

https://www.ted.com/topics

Green https://www.ted.com/topics/green

Independt ly organzed TED Talks:

http://tedxtalks.ted.com

TEDEd Talks

http://ed.ted.com/search?utf8=%E2%9C%93&qs=environment

Stanford Encyclopdedia of Philosophy (link)

GOVERNMENT

National (many have local affiliates):

Overview of national organizations -article in Mother Jones
350.org
Leave No Trace
Quaker Earthcare Witness
EQAT - Earth Quaker Action Team
Move to Amend

State

PennEnvironment Statewide, citizen-based environmental advocacy
Pennsbury Land Trust Protecting and preserving the natural, agricultural, and historic resources of Pennsbury Township.
Pennsylvania Audubon Society Connecting people with nature
Pennsylvania Environmental Council Conservation through Cooperation
Pennsylvania Environmental Defense Foundation Litigating for Our Environment
Pennsylvania Land Trust Association Protecting Pennsylvania’s special places
Pennsylvania Resources Council Working to protect the environment since 1939.

Local

350.org Philly
Clean Air Council
Delaware Riverkeeper
Wissahickon organizations (a P.C. resource page)

Friends Journal - issue archive https://www.friendsjournal.org/issue-archive/

"An Introduction to Quaker Testimonies" (website) https://www.afsc.org/testimonies/introduction

Quaker History (journal)-Selected issues available in Gummere; Entire collection is in JSTOR Other titles are available in the Proquest database collection.

10-12th GR: Environmental Ethics Research

Suggested Resources

Citation Help-Please edit or add what is expected by Dept/Class/Teachers