- South America search - you may further limit you search by specific country.
Encyclopedia of Caribbean Archaeology by
Encyclopedia of Caribbean Archaeology offers a comprehensive overview of the available archaeological research conducted in the region. Beginning with the earliest native migrations and moving through contemporary issues of heritage management, the contributors tackle the usual questions of colonization, adaptation, and evolution while embracing newer research techniques, such as geoinformatics, archaeometry, paleodemography, DNA analysis, and seafaring simulations. Entries are cross-referenced so that readers can efficiently access data on a variety of related topics
Indigenous Peoples and Archaeology in Latin America by
... Beginning with the earliest native migrations and moving through contemporary issues of heritage management, the contributors tackle the usual questions of colonization, adaptation, and evolution while embracing newer research techniques, such as geoinformatics, archaeometry, paleodemography, DNA analysis, and seafaring simulations. Entries are cross-referenced so that readers can efficiently access data on a variety of related topics. The introduction includes a survey of the various archaeological periods in the Caribbean, as well as a discussion of the region's geography, climate, topography, and oceanography. It also offers an easy-to-read review of the historical archaeology, providing a better understanding of the cultural contexts of the Caribbean that resulted from the convergence of European, Native American, African, and then Asian settlers.
Lexicografía Hispano-Amerindia 1550-1800 by
El presente estudio es la primera monografía que analiza los vocabularios de las lenguas indígenas en su conjunto. Agrupa, de modo ordenado y completo, los vocabularios compilados por los misioneros de las distintas órdenes religiosas durante la etapa colonial (1550-1800), tanto los que están localizados, como los que se encuentran en paradero desconocido. En general, comparten propósito y técnica de elaboración, y se constituyen como una tradición dentro de la historia de la lexicografía bilingüe hispánica. La lista comprende más de ciento cincuenta vocabularios de una gran diversidad de lenguas; la mayoría son hispano-amerindios, pero también los hay con las palabras-entrada en lengua indígena. La descripción de los vocabularios realizada en este catálogo ofrece una visión general de cómo se desarrolló la lexicografía bilingüe colonial del español y las lenguas amerindias. La ficha comprehensiva de cada vocabulario permite conocer sus características más relevantes, una selección de la bibliografía que los trata y, en muchos casos, la localización de los ejemplares y su disponibilidad digital.
Modernidades Indígenas by
Las culturas indígenas americanas han sido convencionalmente pensadas como "tradicionales" y, por tanto, en la medida en que la modernidad es imaginada como lo opuesto de la tradición, "indígena" y "modernidad" son términos estimados intuitivamente como incompatibles. La modernidad, la técnica, la racionalidad occidental se considera que reemplazan las antiguas creencias y prácticas. Contra esa idea, sin embargo, la etnografía demuestra una y otra vez cómo las culturas indígenas no sólo son capaces de coexistir con la modernidad occidental e incluso de sacar el mayor partido de ella, sino también cómo los indígenas producen sus propias formas de modernidad. Los 13 ensayos que componen este libro interpretan estas formas indígenas de modernidad. Ocupándose de distintos grupos amerindios, diferentes temas de estudio y a través de estilos interpretativos también diversos, estos estudios se preguntan cuestiones tales como ¿de qué manera interpretan los indígenas la modernidad?, ¿qué usos hacen de ella? Y no sólo cómo transforma la modernidad la cultura indígena, sino cómo ésta transforma la modernidad. ¿Podemos hablar, pues, de una modernidad específicamente indígena?
Native Peoples of the Americas by
Rich with photos, maps, and sidebars, Native Peoples of the Americas cover native peoples from the past and present. Readers will learn about early civilizations, languages, religions, arts, and cultures of the indigenous peoples of the United States, Canada, and Middle and South America.
Talking Taino by
Keegan and Carlson, combined, have spent over 45 years conducting archaeological research in the Caribbean, directing projects in Trinidad, Grenada, St. Lucia, Puerto Rico, the Dominican Republic, Haiti, Cuba, Jamaica, Grand Cayman, the Turks & Caicos Islands, and throughout the Bahamas. Walking hundreds of miles of beaches, working without shade in the Caribbean sun, diving in refreshing and pristine waters, and studying the people and natural environment around them has given them insights into the lifeways of the people who lived in the Caribbean before the arrival of Christopher Columbus.
The Encyclopedia of World Cultures by 
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Mesoamerican Cultures by
Encompassing the great civilizations of the pre-Columbian era (including the Olmec, Aztec, and Maya peoples) up through the colonial and postcolonial periods, the Encyclopedia covers art, archaeology, religious studies, anthropology, history, and historiography of the region in fully cross-referenced, signed articles by the leading scholars in the discipline.
You may also want to look for:
other organizations and NGO's
USAID - search "indigenous" https://www.usaid.gov/search/site-search?keys=indigenous
Topics selected last year
INDIGENOUS GROUPS BY THEIR NAME:
|
Purépecha |
|
Mapuche |
|
Yuma, Yuman, Quechan |
|
Taíno |
SELECTED GROUPS BY LOCATION IN CURRENT COUNTRIES:
From Chile:
From Mexico: (all in EWC )
From Bolivia:
From Perú:
From Bolivia:
________
Presentation / selected topics:
Links to additional maps not in our collection - specific countries, etc.
When searching for specific group names you should consider the following:
Variations of a particular group's name:
Exonym / autonym - a name or identification that a group gives to themselves.
Endonym /xenonym - a name or identification given to a group by outsiders
Variations due to translations from other languages, or language within the particular current political location
The group may be a sub-group of a larger community.