LibGuides: 8th GR: Roman Coins Research: Home

Suggested Resources

undefined

Here are some books that are either about coins, or that include illustrations of Roman coins. These are not the only books available! More in the library, and online in ebook formats. A link to the catalog is below this list.

737.4 BEC Becker, Thoman W. The Coin Makers ISBN 9780706121445 Chapter 3 is about Roman coins.
737.4 ROW Roan, Clare From Caesar to Augustus: Using Roman Coins as Sources ISBN 9781107675698
737.4 SUA Rasiel Suarez. Eric II : The Encyclopedia of Roman Imperial Coins ISBN 9780976466413
937 A COR Tim Cornell, John Matthews, and John Matthews. Atlas of the Roman World
- This book contains numerous images on Roman coins. Images of both the obverse and reverse side (front and back) are often included, as well as some detail describing the elements of a coin.
937 ANC Ancient Rome: The Definitive Visual History - has a good section explaining many of the properties of Roman coins. P. 130-131.
937 E ADK Adkins, Lesley. Handbook to life in Ancient Rome. New York, NY: Facts on File, c1994. Book. ISBN: 0816027552 See pages 305-312
937.092 GRA Grant, Michael. The Roman Emperors, a biographical guide to the rulers of Imperial Rome 31 B.C. - A.D. 476 ISBN 9780760700914 Shows many coins depicting Roman rulers are included at the beginning of each Emperor's section. Unfortunately, the reverse side for these coins is not shown.
937.092 SCA Scare, Chris Chronicle of the Roman Emperors ISBN 9780500050774
938 E GRA Carson, R.A.G., "Coins" Civilization of the Ancient Mediterranean. ISBN 068418866X See pages 1806 - 1816

AccessIt Library Catalog This link opens in a new window Catalog of library books and online resources
You may browse the Catalog as a Guest or use Single Sign On / SSO to use other features such as "Holds" and to sign on to other databases and ebooks when you are off-campus.

Here are some books from the Proquest Ebook Central collection. A link to the database is included after the sample ebooks below. USE THE ISBN's provided to cite these in Noodletools. You may add the URL by clicking the Database tab in your citation.

Roman Coins and Their Values Volume 5

Sear, David Spink & Son Limited 2014

ISBN number:9781907427459, ISBN number:9781912667260

Coining Images of Power : Patterns in the Representation of Roman Emperors on Imperial Coinage, A. D. 193-284

Manders, Erika BRILL 2012

ISBN number:9789004189706, ISBN number:9789004224001

Catalogue of the Late Roman, Byzantine and Barbaric Coins in the Charles University Collection (364 - 1092 A.D.)

ISBN :9788024622408, or 9788024625348

McGill University Collection of Greek and Roman Coins : Vol. I. Roman coins. By D.H.E.Whitehead.

ISBN:9789060320464, or 9789027272553

Coinage and Identity in the Roman Provinces

ISBN:9780199237845, or :9780191555947

A Companion to the Archaeology of the Roman Republic, edited by Jane DeRose Evans, Chapter 7 "Coins and the Archeology of the Roman Republic" ISBN 9781405199667

Scholarly works:

Manders, Erika. Coining Images of Power : Patterns in the Representation of Roman Emperors on Imperial Coinage, A. D. 193-284, BRILL, 2012. ProQuest Ebook Central, https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/penncharter/detail.action?docID=842217.

Proquest Ebook Central This link opens in a new window More than 150,000 ebooks are available for multiple people to access at once. This new platform allows you to find books for your research in many subjects. Your PC Gmail username and password allow you to log in with a Single Sign On. These titles do not appear in the AccessIt catalog, so remember this source when looking for research or non-fiction books.

Here are some sample sources from the library databases. Links to these databases follow the list. EXPORT your citations directly to Noodletools!

"Money in Rome: Ancient World." dailylife.abc-clio.com/Search/Display/1425708
“Coinage, Ancient Roman.” online.infobase.com/Auth/Index?aid=171442&itemid=WE49&articleId=619789
“The Iconography of Roman Coin Types in the Third Century BC.” www.jstor.org/stable/42667455
"Roman Coins." dailylife.abc-clio.com/Search/Display/1806249
"Make Your Own ROMAN COIN." Calliope, Jan. 2001, p. 11. https://link.gale.com/apps/doc/A69652435/GPS?u=pl3045&sid=GPS&xid=668c4f6d

World History: Ancient and Medieval Eras (ABC-CLIO) This link opens in a new window World History: Ancient and Medieval Eras explores ancient civilizations, dynasties, and empires and profiles city-states, countries, and regions of the ancient and medieval world, providing a dynamic learning experience that encompasses intellectual developments, wars and cooperation, religion, cultural practices, and more from prehistory through to the beginning of the Renaissance.
Daily Life Through HIstory This link opens in a new window explores the daily lives of ordinary people through time and across the globe, providing details about family life, work, food, clothing, sports, language, literature, romance, education, gender roles, social customs, and more that cannot be found elsewhere and are an asset to student research. Furthermore, these details allow students to compare their lives to those of their predecessors and to discern how the past has led to the present, strengthening their abilities to make connections and to identify causal relationships, respectively.
Ancient and Medieval History (Infobase) This link opens in a new window Has maps, charts, timelines, videos in addition to in-depth articles
Gale Power Search (Gale - metasearch) This link opens in a new window A cross-searchable tool for Gale online resources.

Roman Provincial Coinage
- Roman Provincial Coinage has maps feature as well
- Index by time periods
OCRE - Online Coins of Roman Empire http://numismatics.org/ocre/
- identify a coin http://numismatics.org/ocre/identify
The British Museum - Catalog of Roman coins
The Denarius – the Main Currency of Roman Times
Closing the Doors of Janus‘ Temple: Nero‘s Propaganda celebrating the Roman-Parthian Agreement of 58 A.D. on the Armenian Reig n
Money in the Roman Republic (The Money Museum)
VROMA - good images and background information http://www.vroma.org/images/mcmanus_images/indexcoins.html
Tips on Dating Roman Coins
http://www.ancient-roman-coin.com/
Littleton Coin Company - search by "Rulers" on the left column of page

Terms: obverse and reverse side of coin - fancy way to say heads or tails!

Other identifiers:

Material (gold, silver, bronze, brass) - associated with the denomination (value) of the coin.
Size: diameter and thickness
Weight (related to value)
Edge - smooth, serrated, other
Denomination (value)
Markings:
- Person(s), place(s), thing(s) , symbols
- God(s)
- Word(s), motto(s), slogan(s), denomination of coin
- Mint marks http://www.romancoins.info/Mintmarks.html

Citation Help

MLA Citation Style