LibGuides: 7th GR: Wolf Hollow Research: Home

Resources by type (books, databases)

Start your research by creating your NoodleTools project. Remember the easiest way to do so is from the Gmail apps grid.

If you don't remember the username and passwords for the PC databases when you are not at school, see this GoogleDoc.

MOVE TO THIS SECTION:

American History (ABC-CLIO) This link opens in a new window
Britannica Image Quest This link opens in a new window
Britannica School-Middle This link opens in a new window

Proquest eBook Central

Daily Life Through HIstory This link opens in a new window explores the daily lives of ordinary people through time and across the globe, providing details about family life, work, food, clothing, sports, language, literature, romance, education, gender roles, social customs, and more that cannot be found elsewhere and are an asset to student research. Furthermore, these details allow students to compare their lives to those of their predecessors and to discern how the past has led to the present, strengthening their abilities to make connections and to identify causal relationships, respectively.
Encyclopedia of American History (Infobase) This link opens in a new window An online encyclopedia of United States history from pre-colonial times into the 20th Century. May be used as an ebook or online reference.
World History: The Modern Era (ABC-CLIO) This link opens in a new window

AccessIt Library Catalog This link opens in a new window Catalog of library books and online resources
You may browse the Catalog as a Guest or use Single Sign On / SSO to use other features such as "Holds" and to sign on to other databases and ebooks when you are off-campus.

Resources by topic

Daddy's Gone to War : The Second World War in the Lives of America's Children, Oxford University Press USA - OSO, 1995. ProQuest Ebook Central ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/penncharter/reader.action?docID=679591&ppg=198
Internment of German Americans - Wikipedia
Niiya, Brian. “Crystal City Internment Camp.” Encyclopedia of Japanese American History, Updated Edition, Facts On File, 2000. American History, online.infobase.com/Auth/Index?aid=171442&itemid=WE52&articleId=208295. Accessed 28 Oct. 2020.
Photo: "Anti-German Rally in Los Angeles." (image) American History, ABC-CLIO, 2018, americanhistory.abc-clio.com/Search/Display/1847299.
Walt Disney on the Front Lines (2 DVD set) or check YouTube- many of these videos have been posted
When German Immigrants Were America's Undesirables
Wikipedia article on Anti-German Sentiment in the U.S.
Miller, Liesl K. "The Great War: Ethnic Conflict for Chicago's German-Americans." OAH Magazine of History 2, no. 4 (1987): 46-51. http://www.jstor.org/stable/25162568.

"PTSD" is a modern term/classification. The phrase "shell shock" reflects the vocabulary of that time and so the phrase is a better search term for materials in that time period.

Daddy's Coming Home: https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/penncharter/reader.action?docID=679591&ppg=233
“Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder.” Teen Health and Wellness, Rosen Publishing Group, Inc., May 2019, https://teenhealthandwellness.com/article/269/post-traumatic-stress-disorder
"Men From the Trenches in Hospital Here." New York Times (1857-1922), Feb 19, 1918, pp. 13. ProQuest, https://search.proquest.com/docvieoH g85497?accountid=5451.
"Anxiety disorders" school.eb.com/levels/middle/article/anxiety-disorder/604942#311197.toc.
Keene, Jennifer D. "Shellshock and American Soldiers: World War I." Daily Life through History, ABC-CLIO, 2021, dailylife.abc-clio.com/Search/Display/1485795
Keene, Jennifer D. "Disabled American Veterans: World War I." Daily Life through History, ABC-CLIO, 2021, dailylife.abc-clio.com/Search/Display/1485796
Keene, Jennifer D. "Rehabilitation Programs for American Soldiers: World War I." Daily Life through History, ABC-CLIO, 2021, dailylife.abc-clio.com/Search/Display/1485809
Rose, Sarah F. “World War II, Disability And.” Encyclopedia of American Disability History, Facts On File, 2009. American History, online.infobase.com/Auth/Index?aid=171442&itemid=WE52&articleId=208796
Friedman, Matthew J. MD, PhD History of PTSD in Veterans: Civil War to DSM-5 https://www.ptsd.va.gov/understand/what/history_ptsd.asp
"Timeline: The History of Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder and How We Treat it"
Matthew Green https://www.newsweek.com/post-traumatic-stress-disorder-timeline-571664

Photograph:

"Soldiers Treated for Shell Shock." American History, ABC-CLIO, 2021, americanhistory.abc-clio.com/Search/Display/1452725. Accessed 5 Nov. 2021.

The Art of War by Sean Stewart Price
Call Number: 741.67 PRI
ISBN: 9781410931146
Publication Date: 2008-10-17

What children did to support the war

EBook: Daddy's Gone to War: The Second World War in the Lives of America's Children
ISBN number: 9780195096491

What US civilians did to support the war efforts
"American Home Front during World War II." EXPORT CITATION TO NOODLETOOLS

Farming

Mechanized Farming in America: 1920–1939 (ABC-Clio)

Victory Gardens:

Infobase database article on Victory Gardens
The Art of War: Posters (book)
Print book: Sowing The Seeds of Victory

War Bonds, War Stamps

War Bonds (Infobase)
The Art of War: Posters (book) - has posters that promote home front efforts
entry in Encyclopedia of American History (print and online)

Scrap Drives

Fredriksen, John C. “Scrap Drives during World War II.” The Great Depression and World War II, Third Edition, Facts On File, 2017. American History, online.infobase.com/Auth/Index?aid=171442&itemid=WE52&articleId=196060

Rationing

Rationing during World War II (Infobase)
The Art of War: Posters (book)

Service Flags during WWII

Daddy's Gone to War: The Second World War in the Lives of America's Children by William M. Tuttle
That star in the window doesn't represent a person's rank…by Larry Haggerty
Wikipedia contributors. "Service flag." Wikipedia, The Free Encyclopedia. Wikipedia, The Free Encyclopedia, 13 Aug. 2020. Web. 6 Nov. 2020. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Service_flag

Milkweed used for Life Jackets - p. 154 Wolf Hollow

Articles in ProQuest:

Moe, Doug. "The Wisconsin State Journal Doug Moe Column." TCA Regional News, May 28, 2014. ProQuest, https://search.proquest.com/docview/1529353409?accountid=5451
Holman, Ross L. "War Shuffles Industry's Raw Materials." Barron's National Business and Financial Weekly (1942-Current file), Feb 28, 1944, pp. 5. ProQuest, https://search.proquest.com/docview/350233083?accountid=5451.
"Kapok Substitute." New York Times (1923-Current file), Jul 16, 1944, pp. 1. ProQuest, https://search.proquest.com/docview/106996721?accountid=5451.

From the Internet:

Second World War: Picking Milkweed Pods for Life Jackets
https://www.cappersfarmer.com/humor-and-nostalgia/life-jackets-reeve

Rural Life in Postwar America (info on women here)
What was life like for rural women?
- Ebook: Gowdy-Wygant, Cecilia. Cultivating Victory : The Women's Land Army and the Victory Garden Movement.

One Room Schoolhouses

Telephone party lines

Wikipedia is an acceptable source for this question
Party Lines (video)
Crossen, Cynthia. "When Eavesdropping Meant that You had some Nosy Neighbors." Wall Street Journal, Jun 05, 2006. ProQuest, https://search.proquest.com/docview/398955126?accountid=5451
Ring, Wilson. "The Party's Over for Rural Phone Customers in Green Mountain State - Newspaper in Database
Cumo, Christopher. "Telephone Technology in America: Modern World." Daily Life through History, Database

Wolf Trapping pits and eradication efforts (Wold Hollow - name origins)

Wolf Wars: America’s Campaign to Eradicate the Wolf (PBS)

Kodak Cameras

By ROBERT W. BROWN. "FOR AMATEUR PHOTOGRAPHERS: CONTESTS FOR PRINTS SUMMERTIME COMPETITIONS OFFER HIGH PRIZES FOR THE CAMERA MAN." New York Times (1923-Current file), Jun 22, 1941, pp. 1. ProQuest, https://search.proquest.com/docview/105551119?accountid=5451
Grundberg, Andy. "PASTIMES: Camera." New York Times, May 28, 1989. ProQuest, https://www.proquest.com/newspapers/pastimes-camera/docview/427206987/se-2?accountid=5451.
"Eastman Kodak Company." American History, ABC-CLIO, 2021, americanhistory.abc-clio.com/Search/Display/370876

1940's Kodak camera Kodak Sterling II camera. Photograph. Britannica ImageQuest, Encyclopædia Britannica, 25 May 2016. quest.eb.com/search/126_490401/1/126_490401/cite . Accessed 3 Oct 2018.
PHIL P. "From Little Boxes, Fond Memories: From Little Boxes Come Fond Memories." New York Times (1923-), Jun 18, 1992, pp. 2. ProQuest, https://www.proquest.com/historical-newspapers/little-boxes-fond-memories/docview/108923615/se-2?accountid=5451.
Kodak Brownie Camera: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kodak_Brownie

Horne's Department Store where the family won the Kodak camera p.25

Horne's Department Store charge coin (an early credit card) Creative Commons image.

7th GR: Wolf Hollow Research

Resources by type (books, databases)

Resources by topic

Noodletools help