LibGuides: 10th GR: Columbian Exchange / Interchange / Encounter: Welcome

Suggested sources

AccessIt Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
Use Accessit to search for your specific topic. For shorter terms such as tea use quotes around the term "tea", for example.
You may browse the Catalog as a Guest or use Single Sign On / SSO to use other features such as "Holds" and to sign on to other databases and ebooks when you are off-campus.

When searching the catalog (Accessit) it is recommended to use quotations around your term. For example "tea", "corn". For longer words this is not necessary.

Proquest Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
More than 150,000 ebooks are available for multiple people to access at once. This new platform allows you to find books for your research in many subjects. Your PC Gmail username and password allow you to log in with a Single Sign On. These titles do not appear in the AccessIt catalog, so remember this source when looking for research or non-fiction books.

1493 for young people : from Columbus's voyage to globalization by Charles C. Mann
Call Number: EBOOK (MACKIN)
ISBN: 9781609806316
Publication Date: 2016

Sample titles in ebook format (not a complete list):

Ecological Imperialism: The Biological Expansion of Europe, 900-1900
The Economic Aspects of Spanish Imperialism in America, 1492-1810
Encyclopedia of World Trade from Ancient Times to the Present
Food and Health in Early Modern Europe: Diet, Medicine and Society, 1450-1800
A Movable Feast: Ten Millennia of Food Globalization
Pigs, Pork, and Heartland Hogs: From Wild Boar to Baconfest.
Lost Crops of Africa : Volume II: Vegetables - has chapter on OKRA ADDED NOV 2023
Tropical Root and Tuber Crops : Cassava, Sweet Potato, Yams and Aroids ADDED NOV 2023
Newman, Kara. The Secret Financial Life of Food : From Commodities Markets to Supermarkets, Columbia University Press, 2012. ProQuest Ebook Central, https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/penncharter/detail.action?docID=1028071 ADDED NOV 2023
Bonavia, Duccio. Maize : Origin, Domestication, and Its Role in the Development of Culture, Cambridge University Press, 2013. ProQuest Ebook Central, https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/penncharter/detail.action?docID=1139757 ADDED NOV 2023
Horse Nations : The Worldwide Impact of the Horse on Indigenous Societies Post-1492

Mitchell, Peter
https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/penncharter/detail.action?docID=1973784 ADDED - APRIL 2 2024

ABC-CLIO (metasearch) This link opens in a new window
This link allows you to cross-search all the ABC-CLIO databases in our collection, except their ebooks.
Britannica Online School Edition This link opens in a new window
Access encyclopedia articles, multimedia, primary sources, games, and other learning resources that support student research and reinforce curriculum standards. Includes:
- Elementary School Edition:http://school.eb.com/levels/elementary
- Middle School Edition:http://school.eb.com/levels/middle
- High School Edition: http://school.eb.com/levels/high-
History Research Center (infobase - metasearch) This link opens in a new window
This link allows you to cross-search all the Infobase databases in our collection, except their ebooks.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
An archive of fully searchable back issues of scholarly journals in anthropology, African- American studies, ecology, economics, education, finance, general science, history, literature, music, philosophy, political science, sociology, and statistics.
ProQuest Database collection This link opens in a new window
contains the full text of articles from over 2000 newspapers, magazines, journals
Oxford African American Studies This link opens in a new window 20,000 articles by top scholars in the field on various topics including arts and leisure, business and labor, and history

Example sources:

Mann, Charles C. "The Eyes Havie It" Smithsonian, 11, 2011, [Potatoes]

Nunn, Nathan and Nancy Qian. "The Columbian Exchange: A History of Disease, Food, and Ideas." The Journal of Economic Perspectives 24, no. 2 (Spring, 2010): 163-188.

"Alfred W. Crosby on the Columbian Exchange" from Smithsonian

Columbian Exchange article from Bill of Rights Institute

The Food Time Line

Non-uniform tropical forest responses to the ‘Columbian Exchange’ in the Neotropics and Asia-Pacific - maps

How the Potato Changed the World from Smithsonian, Charles C. Mann

Oxford Companion to United States History

The roots of the Columbian Exchange: an entanglement and network approach to early Caribbean encounter transactions

The Effects of the Columbian Exchange (PBS) added Oct 2023

Nunn, Nathan, and Nancy Qian. 2010. “The Columbian Exchange: A History of Disease, Food, and Ideas.” Journal of Economic Perspectives 24 (2) (May): 163–188. doi:10.1257/jep.24.2.163. http:// dx.doi.org/10.1257/jep.24.2.163.
Journal of Economic Perspectives 24 (2) (May): 163–188. doi:10.1257/jep.24.2.163. http:// dx.doi.org/10.1257/jep.24.2.163.

"The Bittersweet Story of Vanilla: Today, less than 1 percent of vanilla flavoring comes from the vanilla flower. Is that a good thing?" Simran Sethi, April 3, 2017

Interactive Map of the Columbian Exchange https://www.gilderlehrman.org/history-resources/online-exhibitions/interactive-map-columbian-exchange

Atlas of Exploration 910.9 KON

Food & Drink in American (book)

The Oxford Encyclopedia of Food and Drink in America by Andrew F. Smith (Editor)
Call Number: 641.3 SMI
ISBN: 9780195154375
Publication Date: 2004-12-09

Use the ISBN, then add Chapter/Section with the specific section title and the author which is listed at the end of the section. Here is the book ISBN information:

Volume 1 ISBN: 0195175514 Volume 2 ISBN: 0195175522

LINKS to Chapter/Sections:

Volume 1 :
Volume 2
- Okra
- Pig /Pork
- Potato
- Rice
- Sugar
- Sweet Potato batata
- Tea
- Tomato
- Vanilla

Books in the Edible Series

Books in The Edible Series:

Sugar (print only)
Chocolate (print only)
Rice: A Global History (online and print)
Potato: A Global History (online and print)
Beef: A Global History (online and print)
Tea: A Global History
Tomato (print only)
Vanilla (print only)

Encyclopedia of World Cultures

The Encyclopedia of World Cultures (10 volume set) by David Levinson (Editor); Timothy J. O'Leary (Editor)
Call Number: 909.04 DOW
ISBN: 0816118086
Publication Date: 1991-03-01
See how your "commodity" relates to specific cultures.
Commodities included are: Cassava/Manioc, Chilie, Chocolate /Cocoa, Coffee, Horses, Maize /Corn, Pigs, Potato, Rice, Sugar, Sweet potato, Tea, Tomato, Vanilla

10th GR: Columbian Exchange / Interchange / Encounter

Suggested sources

Horse Nations : The Worldwide Impact of the Horse on Indigenous Societies Post-1492

Food & Drink in American (book)

Books in the Edible Series

Encyclopedia of World Cultures

Citation Help - Noodletools